Mozilla Project – the fun has just started

Hi CS3108 buddies,

I have always wanted to participate in a open-source project for a long time. I think open-source softwares are what the world need in order to promote freedom in computing age.

Therefore I enrolled in CS3108 – Mozilla Project offered by SoC. To most people, this is a tough module (just look at the size of our class now, only 3 left). But to me, the fun has just started 🙂

The first thing I want to mention about this module is that we have Gary as our instructor. He is actually very nice, and he always offer help to others if he can. I remembered last week he spent an hour after class answering my curious questions. Somehow, we’re gonna be on our own soon *scary*

I’ve spent quite some time researching I/O interface of Firefox. Besides Bug 538015 which is still not confirmed as a bug, I plan on working on Bug 489091. At first I think will be an easy bug. But I have to research I/O interface, how to get the zoom value of a tab, how sessionstore.js are stored … The last one I still not figure out, couldn’t find any documentation on that. Anyway I do believe this will be the first bug I fix.

Next class starts in 30min … See CS3108 folks over there 🙂

6 Comments

  1. J.D. said,

    January 28, 2010 at 10:14 am

    jia you!! I hope to see your name in that list in the nearest day!!
    you got my support ❤

  2. libras2909 said,

    January 28, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I will try my best ❤

  3. Kudi said,

    January 28, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    ❤ i got ur back man.. 😀

  4. January 29, 2010 at 3:18 am

    I’m pretty sure you can get the zoom session restored! =)

    Simon

  5. Gary Kwong said,

    January 30, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Good luck Daniel! Hope you will be able to find your way around and work on the project that you like! 🙂

  6. January 31, 2010 at 7:10 am

    In my experience real documentation is scarce – hardly surprising because the codebase is so huge. Most of the documentation I’ve seen are at platform-level, targetted at app/extension developers. Fixing bugs in the major projects like Firefox and Thunderbird will more than likely mean manually reading/tracing a lot of code 🙂

    All the best with your bug!


Leave a Reply

